YATES TOWNSHIP TOWNSIP ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS SPECIAL MEETING APPROVED MINUTES MARCH 4, 2023 1:15 P.M. ET

- 1) The meeting was called to order by Nicole Myers at 1:20 p.m.
- Roll Call attendance vote was as follows:

Present: Blair Evans, Iris Hill, Terri King, Nicole Myers, Paula Vollmer

Absent: -none-

A quorum was established.

3) Selection of Temporary Chair

Terry King nominated Iris Hill. Blair Evans nominated Nicole Myers, seconded by Iris Hill.

Motion to select Nicole Myers carried by unanimous voice vote.

- 4) The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 5) Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Blair Evans to approve the agenda as written, seconded by Nicole Myers.

Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

6) Information from the public for items on the agenda:

No comments offered.

- 7) Approval of Minutes
- 8) Approval of Department's expense report
- 9) New Business
 - a. Election of officers

Blair Evans nominated Nicole Myers for Chair. No other nominations were offered and nominations were closed. Nicole Myers is elected by unanimous roll-call vote.

Paula Vollmer nominated Terri King as vice-chair. Terri King nominated Iris Hill and withdrew her name. No other nominations were offered, and nominations were closed. Iris Hill is elected by unanimous roll-call vote.

Iris Hill nominated Blair Evans for Secretary. No other nominations were offered, and nominations were closed. Blair Evans is elected by unanimous roll-call vote.

i. Training update.

Blair Evans and Iris Hill have completed the required training previously. The others are in process for signing up through the township and taking the training.

b. Setting meeting schedule.

Motion by Chair Myers to set the schedule for the remainder of CY 2023 for April 25, July 25, and October 31 at 6 p.m. Seconded by Secretary Evans.

Motion passed by unanimous roll-call vote.

c. Decision on using zoom.

Motion by Blair Evans to use zoom for ZBA meetings as other Yates Township boards and commissions do, seconded by Paula Vollmer.

Motion carried by unanimous roll-call vote.

d. Selecting a process for adopting by-laws.

Motion by Secretary Evans to research existing by-laws from the township attorney (with the help of the clerk), the MTA and MSU extension for review at future meetings. Seconded by Myers.

Motion passed by unanimous roll-call vote.

10) Public Comment

No comments offered.

11) Adjournment

Motion by Chair Myers to adjourn, second by Secretary Evans.

Meeting adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted

Slain Evan

Secretary Blair Evans