## **Yates Township Planning Commission Special Meeting**

## Final Minutes for July 9, 2020

Furniture was moved outside because we had more than the ten person limit for the meeting.

Meeting call to order: 6:20 PM BY Chairperson Julia Carr

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call of Planning Commissioners

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio — Present; Iris Hill, Secretary — Present; Evelyn Walker — Presen; Blair Evans - Present; Janie Durban — Present; Julia Carr, Chairperson - Present; Micah Franklin — Absent

Approval of the Minutes:

Motion was made by Evelyn Walker to approve the February 13, 2020 minutes and seconded by Charles Atkins. Roll Call Vote:

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio — Yes; Iris Hill, Secretary — Yes; Evelyn Walker — Yes; Blair Evans - Yes; Janie Durban — Yes; Julia Carr, Chairperson - Yes; Micah Franklin — Absent

Approval of the minutes for November 14, 2019 and March 13, 2020 were postponed until the next meeting.

Welcome /introduction of citizens in attendance by Chair Carr:

New Business - Revised Agenda

Iris Hill moved that we add the election of officers to the agenda. Charles Atkins seconded the motion. Motion adopted.

Roll Call: Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio—Ye;s Iris Hill, Secretary — Yes; Evelyn Walker — Yes; Blair Evans - Yes; Janie Durban —Yes; Julia Carr, Chairperson — Yes; Micah Franklin — Absent

Election of Officers

Nominations were made for officers of the Commission:

Blair Evans was nominated by Iris Hill for Chair of the (PC) Charles Atkins seconded the nomination. Requests were made for additional nominees three times. The nomination closed on Blair Evans

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio—Ye;s Iris Hill, Secretary — Yes; Evelyn Walker — Yes; Blair Evans - Yes; Janie Durban —Yes; Julia Carr, Chairperson - Yes; Micah Franklin — Absent

Evelyn Walker was nominated for Vice-Chair of the planning by Iris Hill & Charles Atkins Seconded the nomination. Requests were made for additional nominees three times. The nomination closed on Evelyn Walker.

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio — Yes; Iris Hill, Secretary — Yes; Evelyn Walker — Yes; Blair Evans -Yes; Janie Durban — Yes Julia Carr, Chairperson - Yes; Micah Franklin — Absent

Iris Hill and Janie Durban were nominated for Secretary. Requests were made for additional nominees three times. Janie Durban declined. The nomination closed on Iris Hill.

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio — Yes; Iris Hill, Secretary — Yes; Evelyn Walker — Yes; Blair Evans -Yes; Janie Durban —Yes; Julia Carr, Chairperson - Yes; Micah Franklin — Absent

The newly elected officers took office.

## **Public Comments:**

George and Anne Riddering at 7631 S. Queens HWY requested a variance because they had purchased a 22' wide replacement mobile home prior to becoming aware of current zoning ordinances that prohibit placement of mobile home 22' wide.

Dennis Grant at 13655 Lake Drive requested a variance to build a pole barn on Property he owns across the street from his home.

Chair Evans will send them a letter by email explaining who they should contact.

## Meeting Schedule:

After the discussion Chair Evans moved that we schedule a virtual meeting for Wednesday, July 15, 2020; Thursday, August 13, 2020; and Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 6:00 PM and Thursday, October 8, 2020 & Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 4:00 PM. Charles Atkins seconded the motion. Motion Passed.

Charles Atkins, Ex-Officio — Aye; Iris Hill, Secretary — Aye; Evelyn Walker — Aye; Blair Evans, Chair - Aye; Janie Durban — Aye; Julia Carr, - Aye; Micah Franklin — Absent

Chair asked for a motion to Adjourn Meeting Adjourned 7:10 PM.

Approved November 12, 2020 Chuseyha C. J. Market Street, Planning Commission secretary.